DWI/DUI

DUI - NORTH DAKOTA

  • 1. How serious is a DUI charge in North Dakota?
    • In North Dakota, a charge for driving under the influence is typically a B Misdemeanor for a first offense. That means you have been charged with a crime, not just a traffic citation. The maximum penalty for a B Misdemeanor is up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $1500.00. There are additional consequences for your driving privileges and your car insurance. The penalties get worse if you have a prior DUI offense. Take this charge seriously and seek an experienced criminal defense attorney for help!
  • 2. Can I lose my driver's license for a DUI charge?
    • Yes, you can. It is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for help with a DUI charge because your privilege to drive could be suspended or revoked. You have a limited amount of time to fight the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges in ND, so don't delay seeking out help.
  • 3. How will my insurance be affected by a DUI charge?
    • Your insurance can go up with a conviction for driving under the influence because the ND department of transportation can require you show proof of high risk insurance (an SR-22) in order to get your driving privileges reinstated. This can be very expensive! You should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney regarding your DUI charge in order to try to avoid this penalty.
  • 4. How can an attorney help me with a DUI charge?
    • An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you to find successful defenses to the charge of driving under the influence in North Dakota. There are many ways to challenge the prosecutor in this type of charge, including discovery requests, pretrial motions, and aggressive trial strategies. You should always consult an experienced criminal defense attorney regarding a criminal charge, and a DUI is a serious criminal charge.

DWI - MINNESOTA

  • 1. How serious is a DWI charge in Minnesota?
    • In Minnesota, a charge for driving while impaired is typically a Misdemeanor for a first offense. That means you have been charged with a crime, not just a traffic citation. The maximum penalty for a Misdemeanor is up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $1000.00. There are additional consequences for your driving privileges and your car insurance. Take this charge seriously and seek an experienced criminal defense attorney for help!
  • 2. Can I lose my driver's license for a DWI charge?
    • Yes, you can. It is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for help with a DWI charge because your privilege to drive could be revoked. You have a limited amount of time to fight the revocation of your driving privileges in Minnesota, so don't delay seeking out help.
  • 3. How will my insurance be affected by a DWI charge?
    • Your insurance can go up with a conviction for driving while impaired in the State of Minnesota. You can be required to show proof of high risk insurance (an SR-22) in order to get your driving privileges fully reinstated. This can be very expensive! You should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney regarding your DWI charge in order to try to avoid this penalty.
  • 4. How can an attorney help me with a DWI charge?
    • An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you to find successful defenses to the charge of driving while impaired in Minnesota. There are many ways to challenge the prosecutor in this type of charge, including discovery requests, pretrial motions, and aggressive trial strategies. You should always consult an experienced criminal defense attorney regarding a criminal charge, and a DWI is a serious criminal charge.